Finally, a blog post

So here’s the deal. I’m a bit impatient when it comes to some things.

“How long is that download going to take?”

“Come on, boot up faster”

“Seriously? Six months until the next OS update?”

Interestingly though I find myself patient when driving in traffic and generally calm when waiting in line for things.

One thing that really gnaws away at my low frustration tolerance shortcoming is change. Change in myself and other people. I want it all to happen faster. Not only do I want it to happen faster I want it to mesh perfectly with my utopian ideals of the way things should be. That’s not too much to ask, is it?

It took me a couple of months to realize that this was contributing to the dissonance around my classroom practice this term. People weren’t buying what I was selling. BYOD didn’t happen in the first week. I wasn’t able to successfully flip my classroom by the end of September. I wasn’t instantly faced with a class full of inquiry-based learners. The shift in the culture of assessment didn’t happen overnight.

Okay, I realize I was foolish to think that any of those things were going to change right away. Still, why wouldn’t you want to do things easier and better? Ongoing descriptive feedback moves student learning forward much more effectively than a series of end-of-unit tests. Three-part math lessons help students construct a much deeper understanding of mathematical concepts than consecutive pages of drill exercises in a textbook. Why not opt for a more effective way to do things?

I guess I’ll have to channel my best Andy Dufresne and patiently chip away at the old constructs before change can occur. That’s not too much to ask, is it?

About digitalnative

Using technology is the new contemporary literacy for the learners of tomorrow. I am on a personal mission to evangelize emerging technology in education. Currently facilitating a Grade 6 Inquiry Learning Vortex.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

